Hall of Fame

Friends of Choice in Urban Schools (FOCUS) is now the DC Charter School Alliance!

Please visit www.dccharters.org to learn about our new organization and to see the latest news and information related to DC charter schools.

The FOCUS DC website is online to see historic information, but is not actively updated.

FOCUS created the DC Charter Hall of Fame in 2016 to recognize the key individuals whose contributions have helped shape DC's thriving charter sector.


Josephine Baker
Former Executive Director
DC Public Charter School Board
Robert Cane
Former Executive Director
Friends of Choice in Urban Schools
Sonia Gutierrez
Senior Advisor
Carlos Rosario International PCS
Donald Hense
Chairman & Founder
Friendship PCS
Jack McCarthy
AppleTree Institute for Education Innovation
Julie Meyer
Former Executive Director
The Next Step PCS
linda moore
Elsie Whitlow Stokes PCS
Malcolm Peabody
Peabody Theoharis Management
Cassandra Pinkney
Co-Founder & Executive Director
Eagle Academy PCS
Irasema Salcido
Cesar Chavez Public Charter Schools